May 22, 2021
7:30 pm
To view this performance, you must be a HPO subscriber. If you have an account, login now.


Bruckner: Three Pieces for Orchestra
Andrew Balfour: Kiwetin-acahkos (North Star) +
R. Strauss: Horn Concerto No. 1
Beethoven: Symphony No. 8 

Concertmaster Stephen Sitarski takes the stage as guest conductor, presenting shimmering and exuberant works. Principal Horn Jessie Brooks performs Richard Strauss' Horn Concerto No. 1, showcasing the warmth and lyricism of the instrument. Following the charming melodies of Bruckner’s Three Pieces for Orchestra, Andrew Balfour’s Kiwetin-Acohkos draws on the stars and northern lights for inspiration. Beethoven’s Symphony No. 8 offers energy and invention, closing the evening with the composer’s light-hearted side. 

Please note the change in repertoire: Britten's Serenade for tenor, horn and strings has been replaced by R. Strauss' Horn Concerto No. 1. 

+ indicates Canadian composer 

Available to view from May 22 at 7:30pm EST through June 20 at 11:59pm EST. Visit to view instructions for viewing on various devices.

Please note the premiere date: This concert was originally scheduled for March 20, 2021 and was rescheduled.


Stephen Sitarski, Conductor
Jessie Brooks, Horn


If you experience difficulty viewing this performance, please contact