May 08, 2021
7:30 pm
To view this performance, you must be a HPO subscriber. If you have an account, login now.


In line with HPO safety protocols in the Grey-Lockdown level of the Provincial COVID-19 Response Framework, this concert broadcast has been postponed to a later date. For more information, please visit

Mendelssohn: String Symphony No. 10 in B minor
Copland: Quiet City for solo trumpet, solo English horn and strings 
Keiko Devaux: ebb
Haydn: Symphony No.71 in B-flat major

These expressive works transform from stormy and tumultuous to soft and tranquil. Mendelssohn’s String Symphony No. 10, written at the age of 14, showcases the passion and sophistication of this young composer. HPO oboe and English horn player Nancy Nelson along with Principal Trumpet Michael Fedyshyn take centre stage as soloists in Copland’s serene Quiet City, with Nancy performing on English horn. Canadian Composer Keiko Devaux’s ebb provides a brooding atmosphere. This performance concludes with one of Haydn’s greatest orchestral works, his Symphony No. 71, which presents the tempestuous side of the great composer through a journey from dark to light-heartedness.  


Nancy Nelson, English horn

Michael Fedyshyn, Trumpet


If you experience difficulty viewing this performance, please contact