June 10, 2021
7:30 pm
To view this performance, you must be a HPO subscriber. If you have an account, login now.


Arie Verheul van de Ven, 20-21 Composer Fellow: New work
Mozart: Clarinet Concerto
Matthias McIntire, 20-21 Composer Fellow: New work
Prokofiev: Classical Symphony in D major, Op. 25

Principal Clarinet Dominic Desautels makes his debut as an HPO soloist in Mozart’s Clarinet Concerto, a masterpiece of the repertoire that showcases the lyricism and virtuosity of the instrument. Hear two new works by our two 20-21 Composer Fellows, composed following six months of mentorship with Gemma New and Composer-in-Residence Abigail Richardson-Schulte. The program closes with Prokofiev’s Classical Symphony, a lighthearted and quirky masterwork modelled after the style of Mozart and Haydn. 

Available to view from June 10 at 7:30pm EST through July 9 at 11:59pm EST. Visit hpo.org/onlineconcerts to view instructions for viewing on various devices.

Please note the premiere date: This concert was originally scheduled for June 5, 2021 and was rescheduled.


Gemma New, Conductor
Dominic Desautels, Clarinet


If you experience difficulty viewing this performance, please contact support@orchestrated.ca