May 05, 2021
7:30 pm
To view this performance, you must be a HPO subscriber. If you have an account, login now.


In line with HPO safety protocols in the Grey-Lockdown level of the Provincial COVID-19 Response Framework, this concert broadcast has been postponed to a later date. For more information, please visit

Beethoven: Sonata in F major Op. 10, No. 2 (arr. Sitarski)
Richardson-Schulte: Emerge for Woodwind Quintet
Grieg: String Quartet No. 2 in F Major 
Thea Musgrave: Orfeo III 
Jan Koetsier: Brass Quintet, Op. 65

We welcome the warmth and sunny days of spring with this collection of musical gems that share optimism and joy. HPO core musicians are featured in chamber ensembles, providing a range of timbres from across the instrument families. The HPO String Quartet performs an arrangement of Beethoven’s sunny Piano Sonata in F major along with Grieg’s sprightly and charming String Quartet No. 2. The HPO woodwinds shine in Richardson-Schulte’s Emerge, which is inspired by reflections in water. Musgrave’s Orfeo III offers an escape through an imaginative sound world while the HPO Brass closes this program with Koetsier’s warm and sincere Brass Quintet.

Please note the premiere date: This concert replaces Vivaldi’s Four Seasons, originally scheduled for February 20, 2021.


Stephen Sitarski, Conductor


If you experience difficulty viewing this performance, please contact