October 17, 2020
7:30 pm
To view this performance, you must be a HPO subscriber. If you have an account, login now.


Alison Yun-Fei Jiang: On Light and Birds 
Karg-Elert: Sonata Appassionata 
Iman Habibi: Surge 
Tomasi: Evocations 
Dai Fujikura: Secret Leaves 
Poulenc: Duo for clarinet and bassoon 
Stravinsky: Three Pieces for solo clarinet 
Kovacs: Hommage à Manuel de Falla 
Krol: Laudatio 
Barber: Summer Music

Hear the brilliance of our orchestra’s principal woodwind players in this rich, intimate performance. Each player presents great works of the solo repertoire for their instrument, including pieces by Stravinsky, Poulenc and Tomasi. Two beautiful woodwind quintets follow: Canadian composer Alison Yun-Fei Jiang’s On Light and Birds, which imitates the movements of flocks, and Barber’s Summer Music, which evokes a playful, bluesy atmosphere.

This performance has been extended for viewing from January 11, 2021 to January 31, 2021 at 11:59pm. Visit hpo.org/onlineconcerts to view instructions for viewing on various devices.


Leslie Newman, Flute
Aleh Remezau, Oboe
Dominic Desautels, Clarinet
Eric Hall, Bassoon
Jessie Brooks, Horn